blood sisterhood.

15 Mar

when i met nana some years ago at work, i already knew that we are one of a kind.

nevertheless it took some more time to find out that we are sisters at heart.

it was late summer and my grandma had just died. i had to call all the companies i work with to tell them that i had to take off some days at work to travel to the other side of the country for her funeral. i was devastated.

(my grandma has taught me so much, but the greatest gift she gave me on my way was unconditional love. not only her’s but with her actions she also taught me how to see beauty in everything when you look at things with the eyes of love. she never said something like that to me. it was the way she lived her life. i observed and learned). i was devastated about this loss but you couldn’t really tell from the outside. i tried to be strong and calm when i was confronted with co-workers (must be the capricorn in me, i guess).

and then…

there was nana. she saw me on a corridor at work, came to me and said: “you have lost someone, too.” (she herself  had lost a family member shortly before)

then she put her arms around me and for the first time i could exhale and give in to that sadness. we stood there for a while quietly (that’s how i remember it) and ever since it was clear to me. GIRLFRIENDS! we belong together.

that was in 2008 and our friendship has grown ever since.

there is so much you can say about nana. but when you meet her, what will attract your attention first, is her pure and positive spirit. she is a heart-openener. and i love heart-openeners! she will make you laugh in an instant. she is an amazing mum and a great boss (she doesn’t only do voice acting herself, she is also a voice over director). oh, i love to work with her.

during my last massive lovesickness she hovered over me. never left me. stayed with me the whole dark night through.

well, i could go on for hours. but this was only meant to be the introduction to what i ACTUALLY want to talk about…. so i won’t bore you with more details. in case you didn’t get it yet, i break it down to this one sentence: i love that girl! 

one fine day nana and me decided we should become friendship/sister tattoos.

1st step: what to get? we went through several brainstorming sessions. we loved THIS. but then we were afraid that it might be somthing you might get tired of after a while. then we got into the idea of two birds sitting on one string (if you put the arms together it would be one string and the birds each on one of our arms). but again, i am more of a symbolical/graphical tattoo girl. then one day nana and me were talking about something, she said: “our hearts have the same beat.” and that was when the idea popped up in my head.

“let’s go to the doc, let him get hold of our ECG-waves and that’s gonna be our tattoos!”            no sooner said than done!

step 2: appointment at the doc’s to get our ECG-waves. the whole staff of the practice was ever so sweet and supportive and they loved our idea.

very exciting!

Bild

Bild

Bild

step 3: the actual tattoo day. we went to flügel & schwert, the tattoo store of the band haudegen.

Bild

last wednesday it was!

sun was shining, we were happy. went to the other side of the city and got our tats.

first nana…

Bild

Bild

and then me.

before i jumped on the chair the tattoo boy and me had this funny conversation:

me: “so, are you pierre?”

him: “no, i’m jared.”

me: “oh, ok. i’m julia. i think, we should know each other’s names before you tattoo me. i mean, this is not a random act, we start some sort of relationship now.”

him: “oh.” (he looks irritated)

me: “i mean, not a relationship but it’s a bond in a way.”

hahaha! he didn’t get me, i think. but that’s okay.

IMG_4074

yeah, it did hurt. more than my other tats. but it was worthwhile.

IMG_4082

now i have her heartbeat so close to mine ❤

happy!

19 Responses to “blood sisterhood.”

  1. nana 2013/03/15 at 6:26 pm #

    Liebste liebste Julia

    Dearest julia,….you are the most wonderful woman, friend, human being, kolleg, beauty lover, and the list goes on an on…..I have ever met.
    We stood there in the hallway, and i felt how your heart opens to me, we didn´t need a word, you allowed me to HOLD you, …..We were ment to meet….We needed eachother, and gave eachother support, without expectations, we were so pure in this minutes. For me it was a relieve (i was really lost in these days) ….your feelings flow right into me, I knew after this meltdown hug that I just met a true friend,
    ….JULIA the sun begins to shine when you enter a room, and your honesty comes truly from deep of your heart, that i could take any word as a gift, you are my adviser, my savior in so many many situations, we´ve been through a lot heartstuff together, and our kind of humor matches so perfect, that we are really hard to take, people, trust me,….I have to say it in german….”Wehe wenn sie losgelassen”….We ROCK….Last year there was a moment in our lifes, where I had to let you go, we were at the airport, and there was this moment, my heart spoke to me so loud, so clear, that it was impossible not to listen….From this second I knew: JULIA I will follow you every step of the way, where ever life takes US, what ever will be happening to us, I am with you… till purple hair…. and beyond that….Your heartbeat on my wrist is such a good feeling, I can´t explain it in words….i am blessed that you are my sister,…..my friend, my soulmade, my person, my other half…..my hearts beats for you…LOVE Nana

    • julia 2013/03/15 at 6:32 pm #

      sprachlos.
      und in tränen aufgelöst.
      danke!!!

  2. notausgang 2013/03/15 at 6:30 pm #

    *schüttelt sprühdose*sprüht ein herz an die wand*schleicht weg*

    • julia 2013/03/15 at 6:32 pm #

      hey, next time don’t schleich weg. stay and have a drink with us!!! 🙂

      • beautycalyptique 2013/03/17 at 11:02 am #

        I felt it was too silent and lovely and intimate for me to stay longer 🙂

  3. Ricci 2013/03/15 at 7:00 pm #

    Unglaublich tolle Idee. Die mit einer Geschichte sind immer die besten Tattoos und eure ist wunderbar. Schön das ihr einander gefunden habt. Oft sucht man sein Leben lang nach dem Gegenstück, ohne es zu finden. Haltet einander fest und schätzt euch glücklich für das was ihr teilt 🙂

    • julia 2013/03/15 at 8:05 pm #

      danke, liebe ricarda! ja, wir halten uns fest und freuen uns.
      fühl dich geherzt! xx j.

  4. hédi 2013/03/15 at 7:03 pm #

    wunderbar! es tut so gut, von solch einer guten freundschaft/liebe zu lesen! ❤
    es gefällt mir auch sehr gut, dass ihr solch einen symbolischen weg gewählt habt!
    zusammenfassung: ich gratuliere euch und freue mich für euch!

    • julia 2013/03/15 at 9:25 pm #

      danke für die schönen zeilen, liebe hédi ❤
      ich umarm dich virtuell und freu mich drauf, wenn wir hoffentlich bald mal alle zusammen einen glutenfreien kuchen essen können!

  5. teamgloria 2013/03/16 at 2:09 am #

    gosh *gasps*

    how radical and wonderful and brave and true and goddess-like.

    • julia 2013/03/16 at 6:36 pm #

      goddes-like!
      *blushing*

  6. Mag 2013/03/16 at 9:40 am #

    Oh Gott, wie wunderbar ist das denn!?!?! Eine ganz ganz tolle Idee, die ich unglaublich gern sofort kopieren wollen würde. *blush*

    Und Eure Worte rühren mich, denn es ist wunderbar in seinem Leben einen solchen Menschen zu finden. Ich kann das sehr gut nachfühlen, denn ich habe zwei solche Menschen und bin so froh und dankbar, dass es diese beiden Frauen in meinem Leben gibt. Leider trennen uns einige hundert Kilometer und gerade jetzt, wo ich Deine Zeilen lese, vermisse ich beide ganz unglaublich dolle. *Tränchen.verdrück*

    Ich wünsche mir für dieses Jahr, Euch beide persönlich kennen zulernen. Ja, das wäre sicher wunderbar.

    Fühlt Euch geherzt!!!

    PS: Hédi ist ja bald in Berlin. 😉

    • julia 2013/03/16 at 6:42 pm #

      liebste maggie!
      ja, ja, ja, wir MÜSSEN uns bald sehen! alle zusammen. es ist sooo toll soo viele wunderbare frauen zu kennen, kennengelernt zu haben. und viele davon tatsächlich über instagram!! (leider sind nana und ich, wenn hédi in berlin ist, in barcelona :-/ )

      danke für deine worte bezüglich unserer tattoos. ja, solche freundschaften sind ganz selten und man kann einfach nur dankbar und glücklich sein, wenn man so etwas erleben darf. ich habe die erfahrung gemacht, dass es dabei keine rolle spielt, wie weit man auseinander lebt. solche freundschaften kann nichts erschüttern… auch wenn es natürlich besonders toll ist, wenn man sich auch spontan mal auf einen kaffee verabreden kann.

      ich umarme dich (einfach mal im namen von nana mit) und hoffe auf ganz bald ❤

      xx j.

  7. Gianfranco 2013/03/16 at 1:33 pm #

    wow, great story ! True love, nothing’s better. And amazing idea for the tatoo !

    • julia 2013/03/16 at 6:42 pm #

      thank you, gianfranco.
      et bisous de berlin*

  8. Heather in Arles 2013/03/16 at 6:27 pm #

    Julia, this brought tears to my eyes! I have never had such a good friend and am so glad for you both that you have found each other. How beyond wonderful. And that was truly an inspired idea for the tats…they are amazing as it should be for your friendship…

    • julia 2013/03/16 at 6:50 pm #

      my dear heather,
      thank you ever so much for your words. when i read your lines and also teamgloria’s, i dream about bringing us all together on one big table, you her, me, my lovely nana (you would love her) and all the other fabulous ladies i got to know via the world wide web. we would sit there and have some tea and chocolate cake and it would be just perfect. i know, that we all would get along together so fabulously. maybe one day?
      how is life in arles these days?
      sending love
      xxx julia

      • Heather in Arles 2013/03/17 at 8:49 pm #

        I agree that would be an amazing moment, Julia. And I love that tea and chocolate cake would be served! And yes who knows, maybe one day!

        Arles is very quiet but it is the quiet before the storm. At the end of next week is the Easter bullfights (?!) which brings in up to a half a million visitors not only for the bullfights but for the weekend of extreme partying through town. It is too much! We are hoping to escape to some quiet with the doggies.

        Love right back to you,
        H.

  9. Sarah 2013/03/18 at 10:00 am #

    hach, das ist echt schön! also alles daran: ihr 2, eure freundschaft, die story, die tattoos…

Leave a Reply

