the great gatsby. a trip.

27 May

yesterday me and my lovely haidresser friend nina spent the evening at the movies watching

the great gatsby.

3 D and OV.

if you watch it, do watch it in 3 D. and if you liked moulin rouge you will ADORE gatsby. for me it was not so much about the story (we all do know the story, right?) or the actors (yeah, leo is getting better with age like a good wine. i used to adore carey mulligan but was shocked at her botox forehead in cannes last week and kind of tend to loose my respect. how old is she? uuh, 28 already! botox time! WTF?)…

no it showed that the whole music/photography/music/3D experience turned out to be quite a trip.

yes, amazing costumes. thank you miu miu and prada for that.

but the music! loved it. always with a twist and certainly a lot of humour.

even lana del rey’s (choke!) contribution made sense.

emeli sandé  ❤ ❤ ❤

ah, and brian ferry!!!! brian ferry. thank you. i’ve always loved you. (and if you read this: sorry for stalking you on a london antique fair some years ago. i just couldn’t help myself ❤ )

13 Responses to “the great gatsby. a trip.”

  1. Kate (@shoegirlinDE) 2013/05/27 at 12:30 pm #

    I just love this soundtrack! We listened to it on the drive up here last week. Really looking forward to seeing the film, though… especially with the Prada costumes! I had no idea! The whole thing sounds like typical Baz Luhrmann, who I am a big fan of. I was so obsessed with Romeo + Juliet when it came out in high school (shit. I think I just dated myself). Bummer about the botox though. Oh, Hollywood… just let people be!

    • julia 2013/05/27 at 3:36 pm #

      i need to get the soundtrack ASAP!
      can’t wait to hear what you think of the movie*
      and yes, i was LOVED romeo&juliet, too. oh, sweet teenage years ❤

  2. Nina 2013/05/27 at 12:50 pm #

    totally agree! ❤

    • julia 2013/05/27 at 3:35 pm #

      ❤ we're made of the same cloth!

  3. teamgloria 2013/05/27 at 4:25 pm #

    lovely inserts – (isn’t Bryan Ferry glorious?) and how perfect that you went to see the movie with your coiffeuse.

    very hollywood.

    • julia 2013/05/27 at 8:25 pm #

      haha! i’ve never thought about it that way?
      would it still be hollywood-ish if i took my accountant? 🙂

      and yes: brian ferry! he is truly glorious ❤

      • teamgloria 2013/05/27 at 8:57 pm #

        Especially if you took Bernie, your attorney (do you know the Blossom Dearie song?)

      • julia 2013/05/27 at 9:19 pm #

        hahaha!! yes, wonderful!! thanks for reminding me 🙂
        now i have to find an attorney named bernie. (maybe i’m lucky when i come to LA)

  4. Gianfranco 2013/05/27 at 11:49 pm #

    I haven’t seen the movie yet (and not sure that I’m gonna love it….), but everybody seems to agree on one thing : the soundtrack is perfect. So at least, if I don’t like the movie (and the 3D), I’m pretty sure I’m gonna like the music…
    Oh, and glad to finally see some new posts on this blog !

    • julia 2013/05/28 at 10:46 am #

      please keep me posted on whether you like the movie or not, gianfranco. i’m very keen on knowing,
      and thank you for welcoming me back 😉

      • Gianfranco 2013/05/28 at 11:10 pm #

        No pb, I will let you know !

      • julia 2013/05/29 at 8:59 pm #

        🙂

  5. AbiDenton 2013/06/23 at 9:20 pm #

    I loved the film too! I really enjoyed the mix of modern music and the images!
    Gorgeous!

    Abi x

Leave a Reply

